» News



March 7, 2011
Dr. Yuichiroh Matsubayashi (National Institute of Informatics, a former member of our lab), Dr. Naoaki Okazaki and Prof. Jun'ichi Tsujii received the Best Paper Award for 2010 from the Association for Natural Language Processing.
February 14, 2011
Daniel Andrade (Ph.D. candidate), Takuya Matsuzaki (assistant professor) and Jun'ichi Tsujii (professor) received the third best paper award at CICLing 2011 for their paper, Use of Dependency Structure for Bilingual L exicon Creation.
February 4, 2011
The research of Assistant Professor Takuya Matsuzaki was adpoted as one of Microsoft collaborative research (CORE) projects.


October 6-7, 2010
Members of Tsujii Laboratory organized "the Second Seminar for the State-of-the-Art NLP" in Saitama Pref. 20 participants from 8 institutes joined and discussed various latest topics in NLP.
September, 2010
Prof. Tsujii will give following lectures: Sep. 6, invited lecture at Institute of Information Science of Academia Sinica, Taipei, further information on this lecture. Sep. 12-15, keynote speech at BioCreative III, Maryland, USA, BioCreative.
July 26, 2010
Dr. Yusuke Miyao (NII), a former member of the lab and with whom we have close cooperation, received Microsoft Research Japan New Faculty Award. Press release from Microsoft
June 17, 2010
Naoaki Okazaki (Researcher) received the Best Paper Award for Young Researcher at the 72th National Convention of Information Processing Society of Japan.
May 10, 2010
Professor Tsujii was awarded the Medal of Honor with Purple Ribbon by the Government of Japan. The medals are given to those who accomplished distinguished achievements in academic developments, arts or sports. Press release from the University of Tokyo
May 5, 2010
Luke McCrohon, Ph. D student, was invited to join the local organizing committee of the next Evolang conference which will be held in Kyoto in 2012. He was also elected as a member of the permanent committee of the Evolang conference.
May 5, 2010
GENIA Sentence Splitter 1.00 released.


Nov 13, 2009
Makoto Miwa (Researcher) received the Honorable Mention at the 3rd International Symposium on Languages in Biology and Medicine (LBM) 2009.
Oct 8, 2009
Jun Hatori, Ph.D student, received the Microsoft Research Asia Fellowship 2009.
Aug 20, 2009
Daisuke Okanohara, Ph.D student, received the 2009 IPSJ Yamashita SIG Research Award.
July 8, 2009
Daisuke Okanohara and Yuichiroh Matsubayashi, Ph.D. students, received the Presentation Awards in the 15th Annual Meeting of the Assiciation for Natural Language Processing held in March.
May 8, 2009
Daniel Andrade Silva, Ph.D. student, was awarded an IBM Ph.D. Scholarship by IBM Watson Research Center.
April 8, 2009
Wu Xianchao (Ph.D candidate) and Takuya Matsuzaki (Assistant Professor) have received a research award on Machine Translation from Microsoft Research Asia (MSRA) for 2009. Yu Kun (Research Fellow) and Naoaki Okazaki (Research Fellow) received the same award for the last year.
Feb 16, 2009
Parsed MEDLINE data download service started.


Jan 16, 2009
Yoshinobu Kano and Prof. Jun'ichi Tsujii received the IBM UIMA Innovation Award 2008 with Prof. Sophia Annaniadou.
Dec 15, 2008
Enju 2.3.1 released.
Nov 15, 2008
U-Compare released the first public version.
Jul 24, 2008
Enju 2.3 released.
Feb 12-13, 2008
T-FaNT 2, the theme of which is "Machine Learning and Natural language Processing", took place on Feb 12 and 13. The program is available at here. Nine speakers, with four speakers of our lab, are invited to give talks.
Jan 9, 2008
The GENIA event corpus released.
Jan 8, 2008
The GENIA homepage renewed.


Oct 8, 2007
The home page of "aNT: Research on Advanced Natural Language Processing and Text Mining" is now available.
June 20, 2007 Enju 2.2 has been released.
May 18, 2007 New homepage
The Tsujii Laboratory homepage has been redesigned. Our new logo represents a parse tree used in natural language processing.
March 22, 2007 Daisuke Okanohara receives the Chancellor's Award
Daisuke Okanohara, who is a master course student of the lab, has received the Chancellor's Award for his contribution on the research.